Putting you before me is just me being nice.


“Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” – John 15:13
Are these verses really about dying for someone else? I look at these verses as the little choices which put others first.

Putting others first doesn’t come naturally to us. Our innate tendency is to reach for the biggest slice of pie rather than offer it to a family member. It takes a conscious effort to allow others to go before you or to let them have what you really want. This is why I have always been impressed at those who seem to do it regularly.

My mom whom took care of 11 children while taking care of the needs of her church and anyone else who came to her for help.

The people who I have seen at Starbuck’s who purchase a drink for the person behind them(pay it forward).

And also the men whom gave more, serving in the armed forces.

Most likely we won’t ever be called to make the ultimate sacrifice, but could we vow to put others first a little more often? To intentionally look for ways to meet their needs while we put ours on hold? To, in a sense, lay down a little of our lives daily for another?
When we do, we will be modeling Christ to a watching world as we learn to live a life that says, “No, you first.” If we ever meet in person someday, I’ll hold the door open for you with a smile.

Dear Lord, help me to be unselfish, to intentionally look for ways to put others first in the little things in life. Maybe even in making the ultimate sacrifice if ever I’m called upon. When people look at me, I want them to see You instead.
In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

1 John 3:18, “Little children, we must not love with word or speech, but with truth and action.”

Leave a Reply

