Insecure thoughts


“Pardon me, my lord,” Gideon replied, “but how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.”

The Lord answered, “I will be with you, and you will strike down all the Midianites, leaving none alive.”

Gideon replied, “If now I have found favor in your eyes, give me a sign that it is really you talking to me. Please do not go away until I come back and bring my offering and set it before you.”

And the Lord said, “I will wait until you return.”

When doubt tells you that you can’t do something, remember God says you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you (Philippians 4:13). When doubt tells you you’re not good enough, focus on the truth that God says you’re fearfully and wonderfully made; all of His works are wonderful and you are one of them (Psalm 139:14).
Jesus wants us to live with a confident heart so we can accomplish what He’s calling us to do. And He wants to change us from the inside out so we can learn to completely depend on Him!

Gideon’s perception of himself made him feel inadequate. We aren’t so different when damaged emotions and insecurities from our past influence how we see ourselves today. Gideon overcame his doubts and fears by focusing on what God thought about him, instead of what he thought about himself.

The next time you feel insecure, let GOD change your thought process by focusing on His thoughts about you instead of your thoughts about yourself. For instance:

Leave a Reply

