The appetite of the lazy craves, and gets nothing


Avoiding uncomfortable parts of life is a dangerous habit to develop. With very few exceptions, problems don’t resolve on their own, no matter how long we procrastinate in fixing them. A leaky faucet never stops leaking by itself. A root of bitterness toward my husband will grow. The squeal in my car brakes will get louder. And putting off medical tests is never a good idea.
I’ve also delayed pursuing dreams because there’s discomfort involved. Maybe you’ve done this too. Your dream could be to write a book, take a vacation or find a new job. But you know it will involve sacrifice, so you put your dream on the back burner while time slips away.

Sometimes God tells me to wait while He initiates a solution, but usually, the reason for my delay tactics is my own fear of the work, or the possibility of failure, or the inconvenience and self-sacrifice it will take.

Proverbs 13:4 tells us, “The appetite of the lazy craves, and gets nothing, while the appetite of the diligent is richly supplied”. This verse gets to the heart of the matter, which is my hunger. While I bristle at being called lazy, the reality is when I procrastinate, I am hungering for comfort or safety. I might be busy, but I’m never accomplishing anything when my goal is ease.

“Everyone can change tomorrow. Everyone solves problems tomorrow. But the only changes that matter are the ones I make today. Tomorrow is the easiest day I’ll ever live. Today is the scary one, which is probably why I’ve spent so much time avoiding it.”

Leave a Reply

