He’s Got You !


Sometimes knowing we aren’t alone gives us the courage to press on. It’s what Joshua needed when he was thrust overnight into leadership after the death of Moses. Up until that time, Joshua had served as assistant. But in his new role, Joshua led the nation of Israel, conquering the land God had promised and leading three separate conquests.

While the Bible doesn’t detail all of Joshua’s emotions during this time, we read of numerous instances where God encouraged Joshua to be “strong and courageous.” God must have known Joshua needed some reassurance.
Perhaps Joshua had doubts. Perhaps his confidence waned. Maybe he even asked questions like, God, are You sure? Shouldn’t You choose someone more qualified?

God didn’t dismiss Joshua’s fears or shame him for having them. Instead He spoke clearly to Joshua, saying, “… I will be with you as I was with Moses. I will not fail you or abandon you” (Joshua 1:5).
I got you, buddy. I got you.

History shows that Joshua took steps of faith and served as a powerful, humble leader, trusting God through war, human frailty and victory.

Maybe God has been asking you to take a leap into deeper faith, or to serve beyond what you think you are capable. He’s asked you to lead. To love like Jesus.

Perhaps you’ve come close, but backed away. Maybe you even dipped your toes in to test the waters.

Questions linger. What does God see in me that I might not see yet? What if I fail? What if I don’t recognize God’s help and miss my opportunity?

God is aware of your fears. And He whispers the same encouragement to you that He spoke to Joshua. I got you.

Leave a Reply

