What to do with so many decisions.


According to recent statistics, I made 5,000 decisions today. Seriously?

Well, I made a decision to get out of bed. I made a choice to put on my tennis shoes and run at 6 a.m.
I decided which bills to pay. What to make for dinner. Whether to answer a phone call. Which clothes to wear. I may have made more than 5,000 decisions today!
Some of our everyday choices are random, others weighty, but many of our decisions are choice points. Choice points are seemingly insignificant decisions yet they lead us in one direction or another.
I choose whether to react in anger, or respond with understanding to people.
I choose whether or not to create drama with a friend who hurt my feelings.
I choose time with my Heavenly Father, or push that time to another day … again.
I choose whether or not to say those words that cause my child pain.
I could share my frustration. I could explain that my sleep tank was on empty. I could say nothing, while sighing with a expression. Or I could choose to override my fatigued irritation and be gracious.
I knew it was definitely the leading of the Holy Spirit, just as Scripture promised.

“And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, ‘This is the way, walk in it,’ when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:21

Yes, I was exhausted, but I reminded myself what small price to pay for big blessings. Ease and comfort were not readily available to Jesus, and losing a little sleep was nothing in comparison to anything He went through. The Holy Spirit nudged me to recognize that everyone around me was just as tired as I was. He led me in the way to respond.

I wish I could say I handle every choice I have to make that way, but sometimes I fail and gripe, nit-pick, am critical and grouchy. It’s my prayer that I’ll remember how much my choices matter. You see, they don’t just affect me; they affect those within the vicinity of my decisions.

In the 5,000 decisions you make today, take a moment to pause before deciding. Ask the Holy Spirit for His guidance and counsel. And choose to follow as He leads the way.

Leave a Reply

