Stay Focus


“Come,” he said.

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

If its doubt, let it go. Everyday is a struggle to stay focus on what we are doing. We try to use all of our 24 hour day even when we have slept thru 8 to 9 hours of it. Time is something that we can not waste or gain back but neither is life. If one bill is forgot to be paid, It can be paid later. When you are driving, please do not text and try to drive. It is too easy to lose focus while attempting to do to many things at one time.

Matthew 14:29 shows us how Peter took a tumble of sorts when he lost his focus. Peter and the disciples were caught in a terrible storm with their boat being tossed around by torrential waves. When Peter saw Jesus standing on the water, he asked to do the same thing. But when he saw the strong wind and the waves, he was terrified and began to sink.

When waves of fear, insecurity, discouragement or stress crash around me, I stumble too. These quickly become my focus instead of fixing my eyes on Jesus. Without fail, I sink under the weight of these circumstances and fall.

I worry about my job and the changes. Rather than praising God and looking to Him for provision, I stress about paying bills. And instead of trusting He will help me complete a task at hand, I doubt if I’m able to get everything on my agenda done. All these distractions pull me down and pull my faith away from Jesus.

When Peter began sinking, he cried out for Jesus to save him. And Jesus did. Just as Jesus didn’t hesitate to pull Peter out of the rough waves, He will pull you and me back too as soon as we ask. Stay focus on your walk today. And when it gets rough, just call on Jesus and he will be there.

Leave a Reply

