Are you at home


My son just returned home for a quick visit from the Navy. As many service men and women learn, getting home seems like a dream that one day may happen as you move from one duty station to another. As he walked thru the door, he gave me a hug, as most kids and young people never do these days. I guess they know it all by the time they get their license and never look back. I welcomed him home as he replied “Glad to be home, dad” as he released his now manly hug from me. At that instant, deja vu hit me of my first visit back home. Although far from Texas on a pig farm in Oklahoma, I can still remember the look on my dad’s face as I strutted across that muddy field in my dress greens and highly shined shoes to greet him. You have to understand, Nothing matters or can stand in your way when you are coming home.

We can travel the world and run all our lives, but we’re never truly settled until we make a house into a home and keep a lifelong pledge to the One to whom our heart truly belongs. In God, we have all good things, including the gift of love—God’s love.

There really is no place like home. I’ve come to know this with great certainty as my love for You, Jesus, has grown. You’re my favorite place to be. That’s because You are where I am most at home … You are where my heart is settled, comforted and loved.

I vow to always keep You as my home base. To never stray emotionally, physically, or in my thoughts.

I vow to keep You as the center of my home. To seek You every day with all my heart, mind and soul, and to serve You with all that’s within me.

I vow to keep my home clean from doubt, strife and unnecessary cares, and will fill it with believing the best about You, humility, and prayerfulness.

I vow to willingly submit to You as head of my life, to lean on You, and not be stubborn. And to allow You to serve me.

I vow to stay healthy and keep active, inviting You into my everyday activities.

I vow to dream and plan and pray for my future with You.

I vow to love mercy, act justly, and to walk humbly with You.

I vow to let You know every day just how very much I love and honor You. And to thank You for all the wonderful things about You that make You … YOU!

If home is where the heart is, then my heart will always be with You.

I don’t know where you stand with God right now … how near or far you are. But I know from experience, the further away you are, the more lost you will feel. Today, let’s run to Christ—and make or renew our vows to Him.

“I will fulfill my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people” Psalm 116:14

Leave a Reply

