Taking your daily supplements


Like the daily supplements we takes to build up our immune system, the Bible tells us to do the same with God’s Word. Proverbs 7:1 instructs us to “… keep my words and store up my commands within you.”

“My son, keep my words and store up my commands within you. Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.” Proverbs 7:1-2

One of the meanings for the word “commands” in the original Hebrew language is “prescription.” Our hearts and minds have messages and thoughts coursing through them that have the potential to harm. These untrue messages are working against us, and we need God’s Word as the healing prescription.

Here are just a few of His prescriptions that bring healing to me:

For low self-worth: Take Psalm 45:11, You are enthralling to Me!

For rejection: You are Mine, two times a day (Song of Solomon 6:3).

A messy life: You are perfect to Me, at breakfast, lunch and dinner (Song of Solomon 4:7).

When we store up God’s commands and truths within us, we can access them quickly to take and combat ailments. He encourages us to not simply apply them like a quick ointment to a wound, but to “keep” His words. Cling to them and be secured by them.

Proverbs 7:2 contains the benefit to keeping God’s words and storing up His commands within us. “Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.” God promises that as we cling to and are secured by His Word, we will live. He will make us alive – preserve, refresh and rebuild our soul. I love how one of my study Bibles puts it: “Man gains life from God’s words. Life is completely related to the Word of God” (Old Testament Lexical Aid Hebrew-Greek Bible).

Not only does God’s Word heal today, it can prevent future ailments. His truth is our daily supplement, building us up so we can stand strong against those things that come to attack our mental, emotional and spiritual well-being.

Whether you need healing or preventive measures, be intentional today to take God’s Word as your prescription and store it deep within your heart.

Dear Lord, I am making a choice today to take Your prescription; giving my heart and body exactly what I need for my well-being today. Amen.

Leave a Reply

