Why do some things happened ? Do I need all the questions Answered ?


michelangelo-finger-of-god-lg“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.”

With that Word of truth, something shifted inside my heart and mind. I didn’t have to know the “why” to have peace. I just had to know “Who” … and He is completely trustworthy. The whys of life can consume me, because I want to know answers. All the time. To big questions and little ones. Like why there is war. And why someone put an empty carton of milk back in the refrigerator. But that’s just not always possible. The truth is, my understanding is human, frail, and woefully limited. It’s hampered by emotion and colored by fear. It’s also incomplete. On the other hand, God’s wisdom and knowledge is perfect.

God doesn’t need to explain everything to me. It’s hard to accept, but true. I’m learning that I have a choice when I don’t get a satisfactory answer to why something happened. I can choose to allow frustration to grow into distrust, or to submit my need to know why.

I still don’t understand lots of what happens here on the earth. But I do know God can be trusted. And when I don’t get an answer that makes sense to me, it’s an opportunity to gracefully submit my limited understanding to God, and lean on Him.

Dear Lord, I praise You for being all-knowing. There is nothing that escapes Your eyes. Right now I’m facing some things that don’t make sense. And when I lean on my own understanding, I feel shaky. Help me to submit my questions to You, and trust that You have everything under control. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

