What is this New Years thing all about anyway?


new year What is this New Years thing all about anyway? People around the world spend a lot of time preparing for the new year and what for? Some buying party dress and suits to wear out to big parties. House parties on every block. Clubs promoting various artist performing for the new years count down. What does it really mean to you?

Year 2012 was a trying year for me. So much as happened that year that kept me thinking and flip-flopping with my emotions. So many things that year had us all in turmoil with each other and ourselves. Lets make the New Year a new beginning. A fresh start to a new life for us all.

The death of Jesus was not the end, but the beginning of a new covenant GOD made with mankind. I feel that the beginning of each year should be a renewing of that covenant to GOD. Lets give back to him what he has already promised us many years ago. Its time to totally step out on faith. This is not a new years resolution. Resolutions are just empty promises you make to yourself and eventually will break by May or June of that year. According to the dictionary the meaning of a Covenant is the agreement between God and the ancient Israelites, in which God promised to protect them if they kept His law and were faithful to Him.

In Genesis 9:12 And God said,
“This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come.”

Today 01/01/2013, I renew my covenant with GOD to do his will in every aspect of my life. I promise to be a better son, father, brother, and follower of Christ. I promise to be a better listener to the people around me and always bring positive word when needed.

Lord, guide me carefully on this uncharted path of a new year as I daily seek You in Your word. Then use me mightily as Your servant this year as I boldly proclaim Your word in helping others. Amen.

Leave a Reply

